Treading Water

Wow.  It’s taking me awhile to extrude the next chapter of my novel Free Souls.  It’s not that I don’t know where it needs to go or how to get there, it’s the research I’m having to do to get my characters to where they need to be.

Is there anybody out there in Internet Land who lived in Vienna, Austria, back in 1975 and knows something about the offices of the Austrian Federal Office for the Care of Monuments (der Bundesdenkmalamt)?  I have a pressing need for my main character and her mother to visit the workshops and get a special viewing of a work of art that was being restored there at that time.

Yeah, I know the workshops are in “The Arsenal” and presumably have been for quite a long time, but the Vienna Arsenal is a jolly big (and impressive) complex.  I don’t want them going in the wrong building through the wrong door.

I don’t know.  Maybe I’ll just locate the parking entrance on Google Earth and have them and their contact go in there.

Unless I get cold feet about that because Nobody Drives in Vienna, they all walk or take public transport over there.

Possibly I should just fake it– who’ll know, if I go about it confidently enough?  And if anyone out there who lived in Vienna, Austria, back in 1975 and knows something about the offices of the Austrian Federal Office for the Care of Monuments (der Bundesdenkmalamt) should read my novel on this blog and correct me, I can say “Hallelujah” for the readership and let them supply me with the true facts.

If that’s you, just be nice and Gemütlich about it, ok?

This entry was posted in experimental, Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

