I’ve Thought About It

It’s been a month since I posted last, and I’ve had a chance to think about where I want to go with the book revision I’ve been posting on this blog.

And I’ve decided, what the heck, I’m going to keep on going the way I have and see how things come out the other end.  Yes, I’ve spent several chapters developing my main character’s backstory.  Yes, I’ll be developing it for several chapters more.  Yes, making her more realistic throws the whole book out of whack, and I’ll have to spend a proportionate amount of time rounding out my secondary main character (my hero) as well.  And maybe the antagonist/villain will have to stop being a stick figure and gain some genuine motivations, too.  All right, I’ll do it.

I also reserve the right to rewrite Chapters 11 and 12, which as of the date of this post read, on this site, at least, more like essays than fiction.  Actually, I have rewritten them, and I’m busy adding on to subsequent chapters where the newly-written action influences what happens in them.  And I just may plug in the revisions retroactively, so there.

And yes, maybe this will mean that no one will want to read my story to the end.  It happens.

But as I said in my final post of 2013, this process is experimental.  And since I’ll never be publishing this novel Free Souls for money, why shouldn’t I play with it and try things out with it and learn something about writing in the process?  And maybe, if I learn enough and work with it enough, maybe, just maybe, it may turn out to be a decent novel after all.

This entry was posted in Writing about writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

