Filling in the Gaps

Oh, gosh, this writing bug is deadly.

When I found and reread the manuscript of my 1983 novel Free Souls I determined it would need some editing and revisions before I posted it online.  One of the biggest issues was a motivational lacuna in the makeup and behavior of my main female character that was big enough to pilot an oil tanker through, sideways.

I’m busy rectifying that.  And when I say “busy,” I mean busy.  For one thing, I’ve been getting ideas on how to take care of it and I find I get crabby when I’m at work and can’t write them down.  Then when I can . . .

I unexpectedly got this (Wednesday) evening off from my night job.  Hooray, I can get some writing in.  And here it’s pushing 2:30 AM and I’ve been up at the computer writing since before 4:00 PM.

(Bathroom break?  What’s a bathroom break?  Food?  Drink?  What’s that?)

The ironic thing is that I’ve written about four new chapters tonight but I haven’t decided how much of it I should actually use.  I’m definitely shedding new light on the motivation of my protagonist, but it’s pretty much all in flashback.  Is it going to interrupt the flow of the main narrative too much?  One newly-minted scene will surely up the tension and poignancy factor in a chapter I haven’t posted yet, one that’s been there all along, but does that justify the rest of the verbiage? A lot of it is summary– telling, not showing, which is a no-no.  Possibly I could render some of it into dialog, but that would take me away from the main narrative even longer.

Wot-to-doo, wot-to-doo?

Yeah, I think I’ll let it sit and cool a little.  It’s late anyway, and I may just get paid work in the morning.

But the gaps are being filled in, and that is good.

This entry was posted in Writing about writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Filling in the Gaps

  1. kyrahalland says:

    Isn’t it amazing how when you get into the flow, time just goes by and you don’t even notice! (on the other hand, there’s those days when each word is like squeezing water from a rock, and five minutes seems like an hour.)

    Glad to see you blogging and posting your work!

  2. kat3kets1gog says:

    It helps to have very patient kittehs.

    As to the matter of squeezing out the words, (un)fortunately as a writer I’m still at the point where my compulsion to write comes only from the stories themselves. So if they don’t cooperate by giving me ideas on what to write next, I can let them sit until they do. Which I suppose is good, since I have a lot of other things in life I have to take care of as well.

    Which is a joke, since yesterday afternoon I thought I was stuck, sat down at the computer for “just a moment,” quickly got unstuck, and was at it for another eight or ten hours . . .

  3. kat3kets1gog says:

    And thanks for being my first commentor (commentator?) on this blog!

Leave a Reply

