Bona Fides

It’s terribly presumptuous of me to natter on about the writing of fiction without exhibiting anything of my own.

All right, I shall.  The work I have in mind is rather old, a short novel I wrote back in the early 1980s.  At that time a number of influences came together to incite me to produce a Christian romance thriller, entitled Free Souls.  Though I lost track of the typescript for a few years, recently I’ve laid hands on it again and I’ll be publishing it here for the first time.

But not in its original form.  If I have any bona fides as an author at all, I’ll want my creations to make their debut in the world well-dressed and deporting themselves in the best possible manner.  After all, I’ll be presenting a work of fiction I hope people will want to read, not asking them to examine a slice of my creative history.  So I’ll be making corrections and edits and maybe adding a chapter or two, all to make the story better.

So now, having gotten your hopes up (yeah, right!), the first chapter of Free Souls will have to wait a little to make its opening bow.  It’s nothing too earth-shattering . . .  Just my current word processing program refusing to play nicely with my optical character recognition software.

(I begin to think it would be faster just to retype the whole thing.)

This entry was posted in Writing about writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

